Make-up Madness!

16 Apr
My Make-up Bag

My Make-up Bag by emilycourtright1

For years I only used Bare Minerals foundation, warmth, and whatever eyeliner and mascara I picked up at the drug store. I found that after awhile I wasn’t getting the coverage I needed (wanted) so I went scurried on over to Sephora and talked to the sales lady who helped me decide what I wanted and was good for me. I had heard that the Make Up Forever HD foundation gave really nice coverage so I opted for that. Unfortunately, they didn’t have in my shade (#115, for us pale folk). She gave me a sample of some of the foundation in my shade (from the tester) which actually lasted about six uses. Instead, I bought the Smashbox “Complexion Perfection Kit” which included their HD foundation, a travel photo finish primer, HD Concealer, and Halo face powder. After trying out both the Smashbox and Make Up Forever foundations, I liked the coverage the Make Up Forever gave me so after I ran out of the Smashbox (2 months!) I ran back to Sephora to buy the Make Up Forever. Luckily, they had it in my shade this time and I’ve been sooo happy with the results.

Smashbox makeup
$20 – smashbox.com

Smashbox Illuminating Powder
$20 – nordstrom.com

Primer | Smashbox Cosmetics
$36 – smashbox.com

Face Powder | Smashbox Cosmetics
$29 – smashbox.com

Make Up For Ever foundation
makeupforever.com

Now, all of this may seem like A LOT of make up for an every day routine but I don’t wear it all every day. The only things I wear on a daily basis is the foundation, mascara, and MAC eyeshadow. The MAC eyeshadow I actually use with a slanted brush as eye liner. I lost my eye liner one day and desperately needed some so I picked up a brush and used the MAC eyeshadow in Beauty Marked and loved it. Been using it ever since.  The only time I wear ALL of these at once, maybe with some eyeshadow, is on those ‘important nights.’ You know what I mean – date night, out with the girls – when I really want to dress up and go all out.
Out of ALL of these, I must say the BareMinerals All Over Face Color (Warmth) is probably my fave. I’m almost running out and keep putting off running over to Sephora to buy some more. It is NOT as dark as it looks in the picture. Instead, it really gives this nice, soft glow with a hint of color to really brighten up your face and a little goes a loooong way. Do you have a favorite product? What’s in your make-up bag?
Leave a comment
6 Responses to “Make-up Madness!”

  1. stilishbabe April 16, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    i loooove my red lipstick and my maybelline mascara 🙂

    • astyledaze April 16, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

      Ohh red lipstick! I love the look of red lipstick but I have a small fear of wearing it :X Haha I feel like it just wouldn’t look great on me – I guess I just need to find my perfect shade!

      • stilishbabe April 16, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

        It depends on the skin tone ! Maybe this video will help you! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jd_Qgcue3lU

      • astyledaze April 16, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

        Ohh thank you! I will definitely make a note to watch that. Maybe I’ll do a post on my journey to find the perfect red lipstick 😀

      • stilishbabe April 16, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

        That would be lovely! Looking forward to it 🙂

      • stilishbabe April 16, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

        oh! And a funny fact! the best shade of red lipstick I wore was a gift from an ex !:D Maybe you should hear a man’s opinion on it too 😀

Leave a Comment!

